Coronavirus: Information and advice. The Council Offices are now open by appointment only. Please contact us to book an appointment.


Council Tax Rebate of £150: please visit our dedicated page.

Political Structure

Blaby District Council has 39 councillors (known as 'members') who represent 18 wards - of which a number are multi-member wards

Elections are held every four years, the last being May 2021.

Blaby District Council is therefore controlled by the majority group - The Conservative Group.

The 39 seats are currently broken down like this:

39 Councillors in total

  • 25 - The Conservative Party
  • 6 - Liberal Democrats
  • 6 - The Labour Party
  • 1 - Independent
  • 1 - Green Party

Once elected, the Councillors, in turn, elect their Leader, who then appoints a Cabinet Executive. The Cabinet Executive is at the heart of the day-to-day decision-making process. Major items of policy, such as the setting of the Council’s budget, are decided by all Councillors at the Full Council meeting.

A full list of Councillors by the political party can be viewed on Your Councillors by Party.

Last updated 27 September 2021
Do you need to get in touch with us? Use our contact form.
A to Z of Council Services