British Dependent Territories

Anguilla
Cayman Islands
Pitcairn Islands
Bermuda British Antartic Territory
British Indian Ocean Territory
British Virgin Islands
Falkland Islands
Gibraltar
Hong Kong **
Montserrat
South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands
St Helena and Dependencies
The Sovereign Base Area of Akrotiri and Dhekelia (Cyprus)
Turks and Caicos Islands

**Many Hong Kong citizens already possess British citzenship and are eligible for registration. However, the majority of Hong Kong citizens were previously British Dependent Territory (BDT) citizens until Hong Kong ceased to be a BDT on 1 July 1997. They will now be classed as British Nationals (Overseas) or British Overseas citizens - both come within the meaning of "Commonwealth citizens" as defined by the British Nationality Act 1981 and are eligible for registration.