# List of Commonwealth countries, British Overseas Territories, British Crown Dependencies and EU member states

### Commonwealth countries<sup>1</sup>

Antiqua and Barbuda Lesotho Sierra Leone Australia Malawi Singapore The Bahamas Solomon Islands Malaysia South Africa Malta\* Bangladesh **Barbados** Mauritius Sri Lanka Belize Mozambique Swaziland Botswana Namibia Tonga Brunei Nauru Trinidad and Tobago Cameroon New Zealand Tuvalu Canada Nigeria Uganda Dominica Pakistan United Kingdom\* Fiji United Republic of Tanzania Papua New Guinea Ghana Republic of Cyprus\* Vanuatu The Gambia\*\*\* Rwanda Zambia Grenada St Christopher and Nevis Zimbabwe Guyana St Lucia India St Vincent and the Jamaica Grenadines Kenya Samoa Kiribati Seychelles

\*Although also EU member states, citizens of the UK, Cyprus and Malta are eligible to be registered to vote in respect of all elections held in the UK.

\*\*The British Nationality (The Gambia) Order 2018 came into force on 22nd June amending the British Nationality Act 81, adding The Gambia as a Commonwealth country.

<sup>1</sup> Citizens of Commonwealth countries that have been suspended from the Commonwealth retain their voting rights. Their voting rights would only be affected if their country was also deleted from the list of Commonwealth countries in the British Nationality Act 1981 through an Act of the UK Parliament.

#### **British Overseas Territories**

Anguilla Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands

Bermuda St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha

British Antarctic Territory South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands

British Indian Ocean Territory Sovereign Base areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia

Cayman Islands on Cyprus

Falkland Islands Turks and Caicos Islands

Gibraltar Virgin Islands

Montserrat

#### **British Crown Dependencies**

Channel Islands Isle of Man

#### Hong Kong

Only former residents of Hong Kong who hold a British Dependent Territories, British Nationals (Overseas) or British Overseas passport qualify for registration.

## European Union citizens

**Member states of the European Union** 

Austria	Germany	Portugal
Belgium	Greece	Republic of Ireland*
Bulgaria	Hungary	Romania
Croatia	Italy	Slovakia
Cyprus*	Latvia	Slovenia
Czech Republic	Lithuania	Spain
Denmark	Luxembourg	Sweden
Estonia	Malta*	United Kingdom*
Finland	The Netherlands	
France	Poland	

<sup>\*</sup>Citizens of the UK, the Republic of Ireland, Cyprus and Malta are eligible to be registered to vote in respect of all elections in the UK.