Coronavirus: information and advice. Latest update on Coronavirus restrictions.


Please note: our offices remain closed to the public, except by appointment.

Electoral Boundary Review

Have Your Say on Blaby Electoral Review

A new pattern of wards is being developed for Blaby District Council.

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) has decided that the number of councillors in Blaby district should be 36 councillors. This is a change from the current council which has 39 councillors.

The Commission wants to hear what residents and organisations think about their local area. A 10-week consultation on the proposals ran until 1 November 2021.

The Commission is the independent body that draws these boundaries. It is reviewing Blaby district to make sure councillors represent about the same number of electors, and that ward arrangements help the council work effectively. It wants to be sure that its proposals reflect community ties and identities.

The Commission is interested in views on which communities should be part of the same ward.

  • Do you have suggestions about where you ward boundaries should be?
  • What facilities do people share, such as parks, leisure centres or schools and shopping areas?
  • What issues do neighbouring communities face that they have in common, such as high numbers of visitors or heavy traffic?
  • Have there been new housing or commercial developments that have changed the focus of communities?
  • Which areas do you identify as your local community?
  • Are there roads, rivers, railways or other features that people believe form strong boundaries between neighbourhoods?

The Commission will use local views to help it draw up proposals for new ward boundaries.  There will be a further round of consultation once the Commission has drawn up those proposals.

Last updated 18 November 2021
Do you need to get in touch with us? Use our contact form.
A to Z of Council Services