Political structure - Blaby District Council

Skip To Content

About the Council

Political structure


Blaby District Council has 39 councillors (known as 'members') who represent 18 wards - of which a number are multi member wards 

Elections are held every four years, the last being May 2015.

Blaby District Council is therefore controlled by the majority group - The Conservative Group.

The 39 seats are currently broken down like this:

39 Councillors in total

  • 29 - The Conservative Party
  • 6 - The Labour Party
  • 4 - Liberal Democrats  

Once elected, the Councillors in turn elect their own Leader, who then appoints a Cabinet Executive.  The Cabinet Executive  is at the heart of the day-to-day decision making process. Major items of policy, such as the setting of the Council’s budget, are decided by all Councillors at the Full Council meeting. 

A full list of Councillors by political party can be viewed on Your Councillors by Party.


Democratic Services
Blaby District Council
Council Offices
Desford Road
LE19 2EP

Email Image Icon
Email Image Icon
Telephone Image Icon
Telephone Image Icon
0116 272 7640
Fax Image Icon
Fax Image Icon
0116 272 7591
Minicom Image Icon
Minicom Image Icon
0116 284 9786
Last updated: 12 October 2017

Website feedbackDid you find what you are looking for?

Is this page helpful?

Was this page helpful?

If you want to give comments on the service itself, please use the Blaby District Council feedback form.

Feedback success

Thank you

Your feedback has been submitted.

A-Z of Services A-Z
Email Updates